AI workflows 5 min read

Claude Skills for ASO Compared: What Each One Does

Five Claude skills for ASO compared by data source, install, licence, and upkeep, plus the core limit: a skill holds instructions, not App Store data.

In this article
  1. Short answer
  2. What is a Claude skill?
  3. Which ASO skills are available?
  4. What is the core limit of an ASO skill?
  5. Are third-party skills safe to install?
  6. Which skill should you use?

Short answer

Claude skills for ASO are instruction files, so they are only as good as the data behind them. If you want free frameworks, start with a skill that needs no account. If you want real rankings, choose a skill paired with a data source, such as an MCP server. Read any third-party skill before you install it.

OpenASO publishes this comparison and has its own skill, listed below. Facts come from each repo or vendor page, checked November 1, 2026. We read these skills, but we did not run or security-audit them.

What is a Claude skill?

Anthropic defines a skill as a folder with a SKILL.md file that Claude can load and follow. It may also hold reference files and scripts. Claude keeps only the name and description in context, then loads the body when your request matches. In Claude Code, you can also run one with /skill-name.

A skill differs from an MCP server. A skill tells Claude how to do a job. An MCP server gives Claude tools that fetch or change data.

Which ASO skills are available?

SkillData behind itClaude installLicenceLast commitStars
appeeky/aso-skillsAppeeky API or MCP, optionalPlugin or npx skills addMITOct 6, 20262,243
alirezarezvani/claude-skills (app-store-optimization)What you paste in, plus local Python scriptsPluginMITOct 30, 202629,116 for the whole repo
dock-aso/aso-optimizer-skillClaude’s web searchUpload a zip to claude.aiMITOct 23, 202529
ASO.dev Agent SkillsASO.dev local MCP, files, or your inputPlugin or copy foldersMITMay 11, 20265
OpenASO skillOpenASO MCPNot stated for ClaudeMITOct 26, 2026189 for the whole repo

appeeky/aso-skills

This is the largest ASO-only pack, with dozens of skills covering audits, keywords, metadata, screenshots, and Google Play. It was published as Eronred/aso-skills, and that address now redirects here. The README says skills work alone on general ASO knowledge, and that Appeeky adds live rankings and download estimates. Appeeky’s pricing page lists MCP credits on paid plans from $20 a month, while the repo README mentions an $8 plan, so confirm the price first.

alirezarezvani/claude-skills

The ASO skill is one folder in a very large collection, so the star count says little about it. It bundles eight Python scripts for scoring and analysis. The three we read import no network libraries, so they appear to work only on what you supply. The skill’s own notes say keyword volume is estimates only, with no official source.

dock-aso/aso-optimizer-skill

This is a single skill with three reference files, built for claude.ai. A zip is on its 1.0.0 release, though the README’s clone link still shows a placeholder. It finds competitors through web search and asks you for the rest. It has had no commit since October 2025, so check its limits against Apple’s current rules.

ASO.dev Agent Skills

The skills repo holds 27 skills tied to ASO.dev’s workspace. ASO.dev says they don’t publish changes themselves. Its strongest workflow uses a local AI Companion MCP, which its pricing page places on paid plans, with a 3-day trial and no free plan listed.

OpenASO’s skill

Our skill tells Claude to treat OpenASO as the evidence layer. SKILL.md sets a workflow: identify the app, start with get_app_overview, gather only the evidence needed, keep refreshes small, and separate verified evidence from hypotheses. It also lists what OpenASO data can’t prove, such as downloads, revenue, or conversion rate. Two reference files cover keyword discovery and metadata targeting. agents/openai.yaml adds display details such as a name and default prompt.

The repo does not state a Claude install path. Anthropic’s docs list ~/.claude/skills/ and .claude/skills/, not .agents/skills/, so we would expect a manual copy to ~/.claude/skills/openaso-aso/ to work. We have not tested that. The skill also does little without the OpenASO MCP server, which needs a Mac. OpenASO has no Google Play or Windows support, gives no download or revenue estimates, and doesn’t publish to App Store Connect.

Also worth a look is Kronop/vibe-aso, with 469 stars, a single skill that adds localization and pricing through your own App Store Connect key.

What is the core limit of an ASO skill?

A skill holds instructions, not data, so without real rankings it guesses. No text file knows where your app ranks today, what your rivals changed this week, or how popular a term is in Germany. Without that evidence, Claude may still return a confident table of numbers. Even Apple Ads popularity is an index, not a search count.

Two examples show why this matters:

  • The alirezarezvani skill scores volume against “10,000+ monthly searches”, though its notes admit volume is only estimated.
  • The appeeky screenshot skill says the first three screenshots determine 80% of the conversion decision. That file cites no source.

Neither is proof of bad advice. It shows that a figure in a skill is an input someone typed, so ask where it came from. Better prompts help too: tell Claude to name the source of each number, and to mark anything it can’t verify. For how real evidence changes this work, see AI keyword research.

Are third-party skills safe to install?

They are unvetted code and instructions, so read them first. Anthropic says to use skills only from trusted sources, meaning ones you made or got from Anthropic, and to audit anything else. It warns that a malicious skill can run code or exfiltrate data. In Claude Code, a skill has the same network access as any program on your computer.

Before you install any skill, including ours:

  1. Read SKILL.md and every bundled file.
  2. Check allowed-tools, which pre-approves tools, and any ! commands, which run before Claude reads the skill.
  3. Look for scripts, network calls, or instructions to read credentials.
  4. Pin a commit rather than following a branch, since a later update could change what runs.
  5. Never run a new skill in a session that holds a write-enabled App Store Connect key.

Which skill should you use?

Choose by your data source. If you already pay for Appeeky or ASO.dev, use that vendor’s skills. If you want a free framework with no account, read the alirezarezvani or dock-aso skill and paste in your own data. If you’re on a Mac and want evidence you control, pair the OpenASO skill with its MCP server.

Next, pick one skill, read it end to end, and run it on one app. Then check its claims with the free keyword rank checker.

Frequently asked questions

What is a Claude skill?

A skill is a folder with a SKILL.md file of instructions, plus optional reference files and scripts. Claude sees its name and description at all times and loads the rest only when the skill is relevant.

Can a Claude skill do keyword research on its own?

Not with real data. A skill holds instructions, so without a connected data source Claude falls back on general knowledge, web search, or what you paste in. Rankings and popularity need a tool such as an MCP server.

Are third-party Claude skills safe to install?

Treat them like installing software. Anthropic advises using skills only from trusted sources and auditing every file in anything else, because a malicious skill can direct Claude to run code or misuse tools.

How do I install the OpenASO skill in Claude?

The OpenASO repo does not state a Claude install path. The skill sits at .agents/skills/openaso-aso/ and needs the OpenASO MCP server to supply its evidence. Anthropic's docs say Claude Code reads personal skills from ~/.claude/skills/.

OpenASO publishes this article and makes a competing ASO app. Spotted something out of date? Send a correction.